DSC_0215

I’ve recently refreshed my makeup bag, opting for something minimal and natural in preparation for spring. This switch up also may have been influenced by a few cheeky purchases I made recently. And when I say “may” I mean it totally has.

DSC_0247

Clarins Instant Concealer in 01 | $32

I recently picked up this concealer after hearing quite a lot of hype toward the end of 2014. It’s not a new product to Clarins’ range but it really made waves in the blogosphere and I can totally understand why. I know it’s not the cheapest concealer in the world, but for a girl who doesn’t use foundation all that often and tends to go through your standard tube of concealer way too quickly this seemed like the ideal fit. Using my Sephora Pro-Airbrush Concealer Brush #57 I squeeze a petite pois-size amount onto the end and focus the product around the centre of my face: under my eyes, forehead, bridge of my nose, below each nostil and on my chin. Then I dot whatever’s left on any spots or discolouration before blending. This brush blends the product seamlessly and the concealer provides the perfect coverage only where I really need it.

DSC_0241

Bourjois Java Rice Loose Powder | £9.99

After applying concealer I’ve been going in with this Bourjois translucent & illuminating setting powder. This is not my favourite setting powder in the world but it’s very light, has lovely packaging and, strangely, smells delightful! Not that packaging & scent should be something you look for in a powder but it doesn’t hurt. Mostly I use this because I like to keep my compact in my purse and another powder in my makeup bag. Call it laziness? Oh, and I apply this using my Real Techniques Duo Fibre Face Brush.

DSC_0234Soap & Glory Archery 2-in-1 Brow Filling Pencil & Brush in Hot Chocolate | £8.00

Next I work on filling in my brows. This is a relatively new step in my routine but since acquiring this pencil it has been the one step I feel strange skipping. I really like the look of bold brows but I know that I can’t quite pull that off so I like to just fill in the gaps here and there to create the look of fuller brows. This pencil is perfectly thin and creates the look of individual hairs. The formula is not too pigmented so you needn’t worry about having too heavy a hand. Also, the colour is a perfect match for me.

Benefit Gimme Brow in Medium/Deep | $28

I then set my brows with Benefit’s Gimme Brow. This is more than just a brow gel as it has little fibres in the product that helps to give additional dimension. I really love this product and would recommend it to anyone who is contemplating getting into this whole eyebrow business. It’s a great jumping off point.

DSC_0238

Loreal Voluminous Waterproof Miss Manga Mascara

All I have been doing to my eyes is curling my lashes and applying mascara. It’s definitely sped up my daily routine. However, I have actually stopped using the mascara above as it was making my eyelashes fall out! The HORROR! So I took a break from mascara all together for about a week. Now I have gone back to my trusted Maybelline Great Lash. It doesn’t do anything special, but combined with a curler its all you need.

DSC_0246Revlon Ultra HD Lipstick in Tulip | $9

I picked this up on a whim after hearing it’s what Emma Stone was wearing at the Oscars. Yes I am that easily swayed but Emma Stone is a superbabe and it was a bit of a moment of weakness. I love this coral pink colour for spring and while the formula is much creamier than I would usually go for, overall I quite like it. My favourite way to wear it is to apply it lightly and then pat it in to the lips. It can be built up to a bold colour in practically one swipe, but for me it’s definitely way too creamy. My only complaint is the packaging. The bullet doesn’t twist all the way down into the tube and so if you are not exactly precise when putting on the cap the product can get all over the inside or the edge of the lid. For a nit picky person like me something as minor as this can have a huge impact. I mean, even if the packaging were black instead of clear I wouldn’t mind as much. Anyway. Good product, crap packaging. Will continue wearing it religiously until the top of the bullet is inside the tube and I can put the lid on without having to concentrate significantly.

Essie Nail Polish in Where’s My Chauffer? | $8

Another impulse buy, but it’s a fantastic turquoise colour for spring and summer. I can’t wait until the sun finally comes out!

Leave a Reply

